

# **Minutes of last Councillors' Forum meeting**

#### **Councillors' Forum**

Thursday, 9 March 2023

Hybrid Meeting - 18 Smith Square and Online

#### **Attendance**

An attendance list is attached as Appendix A

#### Item Decisions and actions

#### 1 Welcome, Declarations of Interest

The Chairman welcomed Members to the Forum.

#### 2 Chairman's Update

The Chairman reminded members that the LGA's Culture, Tourism and Sport Conference would be taking place the following week.

The Chairman informed members that the report and action plan following from LGA's own Corporate Peer Challenge in December 2022 was now published online. The LGA had continued to improve since it's last challenge in 2015 with widespread recognition for the LGA as a key partner in the relationship between central and local government. There were some areas for the LGA to consider and an initial action plan had been developed to address the 12 recommendations.

### 3 LGA Board Chair Reports

The Chairman invited the following Chairs to update on the work of their Boards:

- Children and Young People Board Cllr Louise Gittins
- Culture, Tourism and Sport Board Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson
- Improvement and Innovation Board Cllr Abi Brown
- Resources Board Cllr Pete Marland
- City Regions Board Mayor Marvin Rees

## 4 Digest of the last meeting held on 26 January 2023

The digest of the last meeting was agreed as a correct record.

## 5 Joanne Anderson, Mayor of Liverpool

The Chairman welcomed Joanne Anderson, Mayor of Liverpool to speak



about the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest which was due to be hosted in Liverpool in May 2023.

- Liverpool has a large hospitality and visitor economy
- There was overwhelming support from volunteers who offered to put themselves forward for 500 spots
- Within Liverpool City Council, as well as working with the Director of Culture and in-house culture team, there was collaboration across departments to prepare for the event such as street cleaning
- Consideration had been given to the environmental impact of the event, with props to be reused, no single use plastics and increased public transport for visitors

Members and the Mayor discussed the following topics:

- Ukraine's involvement in the event as the winners of the song contest the previous year. 19 events were organised in conjunction with Ukraine.
- Working with the Liverpool Combined Authority who had provided investment

# 6 Lee Rowley MP - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Local Government and Building Safety)

The Chairman welcomed Lee Rowley MP – Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Local Government and Building Safety), to the meeting and thanked him for his time. The Parliamentary Under Secretary of State included:

- Office of Local Government (OFLOG)
- The spring budget which was due to be announced the following week

The Parliamentary Under Secretary of State took questions and comments from the room on the following topics:

- Challenges for councils to financially plan due to timing of budget announcements
- Recruitment and retention challenges in local government
- Devolution
- Engagement with local government with the work of OFLOG.



# Appendix A -Attendance

Position/Role	Councillor	Authority
1 OSITION/TOIC	Councillo	Additionty
Chairman	Cllr James Jamieson OBE	
Vice-Chairman	Cllr Shaun Davies Cllr Marianne Overton	Telford and Wrekin Council North Kesteven District Council
	MBE	North Resieven District Courier
	Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE	Warwickshire County Council
Deputy-chairman		
Members	Cllr Robert Alden	Birmingham City Council
	Cllr Ash Ashbee	Thanet District Council
	Cllr Jon Ball	Ealing Council
	Cllr Sue Baxter	Bromsgrove District Council
	Cllr Kevin Bentley	Essex County Council
	Cllr Abi Brown	Stoke-on-Trent City Council Cheshire East Council
	Cllr Craig Browne Cllr Nesil Caliskan	Enfield Council
	Cllr Lewis Cocking	Broxbourne Borough Council
	Cllr Hannah Dalton	Epsom and Ewell District Council
	Cllr David Fothergill	Somerset County Council
	Cllr John Fuller OBE	South Norfolk District Council
	Cllr Louise Gittins	Cheshire West and Chester Council
	Cllr Damien Greenhalgh	High Peak Borough Council and Derbyshire
	Cllr Mike Haines	County Council
	Cllr Simon Henig CBE	Teignbridge District Council Durham County Council
	Cllr Richard Henry	Stevenage Borough Council
	Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe	Bradford Metropolitan District Council
	Cllr Claire Holland	Lambeth London Borough Council
	Cllr Rory Love OBE	Kent County Council
	Cllr Colin Mann	Caerphilly County Borough Council
	Cllr Vince Maple	Medway Council
	Cllr Colin Noble	Suffolk County Council
	Baroness Teresa O'Neill OBE	Bexley Council
	Cllr Tim Oliver	Surrey County Council
	Cllr Shabir Pandor	Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council
	Cllr Michael Payne	Gedling Borough Council
	Cllr Roger Phillips	Herefordshire Council
	Mayor Marvin Rees	Bristol City Council
	Cllr Tony Saffell	North West Leicestershire District Council
	Cllr Vikki Slade	Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council
	Cllr Rachel Sutton	Exeter City Council
	Clir Linda Taylor	Cornwall Council
	Cllr Gerald Vernon-	Portsmouth City Council
	Jackson CBE	•
	Cllr Michael Wilcox	Lichfield District Council
Apologies	Cllr Penny Channer	Maldon District Council
	Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen	Breckland District Council
	Cllr Kaya Comer-	Islington London Borough
	Schwartz	



Cllr Kelham Cooke Cllr Bev Craig Cllr Georgina Hill Cllr John Merry CBE Cllr Bridget Smith Cllr Ian Stephens Cllr Richard Wenham South Kesteven District Council Manchester City Council Northumberland Council Salford City Council South Cambridgeshire District Council Isle of Wight Council Central Bedfordshire Council